It’s a Feature | A flash fiction story

8 of 💯

FJCMontenegro
2 min readApr 27, 2022
Created by the author

“Ma’am, giving me the finger won’t help,” the woman said from behind the transparent wall. She went back to chewing her gum the second her sentence ended, her eyes only half-open.

On the other side of the wall, Crash was holding a brassy hand in front of her face, the middle finger pointing heavenward.

“I’m not giving you the finger, stupid. This is the bug!”

“Oh,” the woman raised her eyebrows, but her eyelids refused to move. “That’s the Gunz v5, right? That’s not a bug, it’s a feature.”

Crash hid the naughty hand in her pocket. “You listen to me bitch,” she banged on the wall with her good hand. “This hand is useless. You give me my money back or I’ll shove this feature up your-”

The woman pointed to the camera above her, her eyes displaying a passionate amount of indifference, her mouth laboring on the chewing gum. The sentence “Protected by Atlanta Inc.” circled the camera like a fence.

Crash breathed out of her nose. “You’re right,” she said, “this is a feature.”

She banged the Gunz v5 against the wall, making sure both the woman and the camera could see the brassy finger. The only response was the sound of the gum being tortured. Crash turned away and stepped into the neon-bathed street, the feature in her pocket.

< Artifact | It’s a Feature | Welcome to Argon >

Fund a human! Support my writing on Ko-fi.

FM's 💯

101 stories

--

--

FJCMontenegro

I write sci-fi and fantasy with existential undertones. You can call me FM. he/him https://www.threads.net/@fjcmontenegro