Subway | A flash fiction story

34 of đź’Ż

Fabricio "Fab" Montenegro
2 min readMay 23, 2022
Created by the author

“I’m sorry, Mr. Seloc,” Agh boarded the subway train. “I won’t be able to do this job.”

“Why not?” Coles said through the pod in his ear. “Aren’t you a bounty hunter?”

Agh frowned, his hands in the pockets of his purple jacket. “In what scenario would I answer yes to this question?” he said to the empty space in front of him.

The train was barely inhabited: a homeless guy staring at him, a couple sleeping on each other’s shoulders, and a cleaning bot doing a terrible job at vacuuming the train’s floor.

“You just have to end someone’s life,” Coles said. “We don’t care about your methods.”

“Yeah, I’m gonna pass,” Agh said, the hobo listening intently. “Besides, I don’t do jobs for Atlanta’s personnel.”

“What? I don’t work for Atlanta.”

“Yeah,” Agh said toward the hobo, “and I’m not a bounty hunter. So why are we even talking?”

The homeless guy got up and walked to Agh. “Are you talking to me?”

Agh grabbed the pod from his ear and handed it to him. “Sorry, this call is for you.”

The subway car stopped and the doors wheezed open. As Agh stepped out, he could hear the guy saying, “Hello? Sure, I can kill a person.”

< Free Them Bots | Subway | Daisy >

Fund a human! Support my writing on Ko-fi.

FM's đź’Ż

101 stories

--

--

Fabricio "Fab" Montenegro

I write sci-fi and fantasy with existential undertones. You can call me Fab.